
CANNABIS IN VIRGINIA

Plants must be labeled with the

person's name, driver's license or ID

number, and a note that the plant is

being grown “for personal use as

authorized under Virginia code

section § 4.1-1101.” 

Medical cannabis sold by a licensed

pharmaceutical processor or

dispensing facility.

Possession in your private residence

of cannabis for personal use. 

Home cultivation of up to four

cannabis plants.
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ADULT SHARING DOES NOT INCLUDE "GIFTING" SCHEMES
Transactions that include a "gift" of cannabis along with the sale of other goods or services are

illegal. Examples of such schemes include: 

HOME CULTIVATION

"Adult sharing"- the private

transfer of one ounce or less of

marijuana between people 21 years

or older without exchanging

anything else of value. 

This document is not a comprehensive guide to Virginia cannabis laws. For detailed

guidance, please consult the Code of Virginia and/or a legal professional.

Home cultivators should only grow in

private spaces, be familiar with safe

growing practices, and be sure to

keep plants away from children and

pets. Landlords may specify in rental

agreements that tenants may not

grow or use cannabis on the rental

property.

Growing more than four cannabis

plants at home can result in penalties

ranging from a civil fine or

misdemeanor to a felony.

A vendor selling a small novelty item for money and "gifting" cannabis at the same time to

the person who bought the novelty.
Advertising that a "gift" of cannabis will be available at an event, such as a concert or

farmer's market.
Including a "gift" of cannabis as part of a paid class about cannabis home cultivation. 

WHAT'S LEGAL?

Possession in public of up to one

ounce of cannabis for personal use. 




For additional educational resources, visit: cca.virginia.gov

https://cca.virginia.gov/resources/


CANNABIS IN VIRGINIA

Possession of cannabis outside of

your personal residence can result in

legal consequences. The penalty

differs based on the amount of

cannabis: 

WHAT'S ILLEGAL?

Selling or purchasing adult-use

marijuana. "Pop-up shops" or other

limited-time markets violate the

law. 
Growing plants that are visible to

members of the public. 
Cultivating more than four plants at

home.
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LEGAL CONSEQUENCES 

Driving under the influence of

marijuana. 
Carrying cannabis while providing

transportation services, such as

driving a cab or for Uber or Lyft. 

More than one ounce and up to
four ounces of cannabis can

result in a $25 civil fine. 

More than four ounces and up to

one pound of cannabis on one’s

person or in a public place is a

criminal offense and can be a

class 2 or class 3 misdemeanor.

Over one pound of cannabis is

considered a felony and can

result in a prison sentence of one

to ten years and a fine of up to

$250,000. 

OPEN CONTAINER RESTRICTIONS APPLY TO CANNABIS
Cannabis cannot be stored so that it is open and accessible to the passenger area of a vehicle.

The "passenger area" includes: 

Passengers of vehicles should not access cannabis while the car is in use. It is illegal for
the driver or the passenger of a vehicle to use cannabis on a public highway. 

Any area within reach of the driver
The area where passengers are seated 

An unlocked glove compartment 
The living area of a motor home 

This document is not a comprehensive guide to Virginia cannabis laws. For detailed

guidance, please consult the Code of Virginia and/or a legal professional.

For additional educational resources, visit: cca.virginia.gov

https://cca.virginia.gov/resources/

